Conditioning day.  I like the cardio, but then I enjoy running.  I was hesitant when I first started CrossFit .. running on asphalt, which is something I have avoided since I left the Army.  But .. my knees have not been bothering me.  I imagine three explanations for this:

1-Wearing Vibrams;

2-Seeking the best diet for CF;

3-Doing CrossFit.

So .. to start the morning (already 79d outside at 5am!) ..

WARM UP

25 Double Unders

20 Sit Ups

10 Hip Extensions

10 Squats

Still no Double Unders here; though, I am starting to sneak in the occasional 4 or 8.  Mostly I do the 3 for 1, so in this case, 75.  Because I like jumping rope to warm up, I had already done 110 before I did the 75.

WOD

800 meter Run

50 Hand Stand Push Ups (HSPU)

800 meter Run

I used two abmats to judge the touchdown point for my head (I used to use three).  Which is not to say I touch down every time with two abmats; better to say Im somewhere in between 2 and 3.  Lol .. which is not to say I touch down every time .. but I can do about half (ok .. maybe 1/4 .. but Im getting there).

😀

Total time: 10:00 minutes even.

When I finished, I did another 50 HDPU, and didnt even focus on the abmats .. just the drop, shoulder lock, then push back up.

Coach Keefa showed me a Kip to lift back up.  Interesting technique .. and it makes sense.  For example, in my additional 50, about 20 of those I did in Scorpion Pose because they are easier when the center of gravity is lowered.  The Kip move that Keefa showed me did just that: Dropped the legs into what I would call a Cobbler (Urdhva Baddha Konasana), then kicked them back up.  So .. lowering the gravity line to assist the lift.  Thats how I teach Yoga.

Ive never done 50 Hand Stand Push Ups before .. so lets see how I feel today during Yoga classes!

This mornings CrossFit. I like the cardio (in my vibrams). HSPU = Handstand Push Up. When I was finished with the second run (after time), I did another 50. I can break the plane ever so often .. lol .. but more ‘ever so’ than often! 😀

Comments

Leave a Reply

