Week Eight, Day 27

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Workout Log
Tags: , , , , ,

Warm Up – Junkyard Dog

Now here is an odd warm up for you (if the name is not unusual enough).  Its a partner assisted workout where you jump over some one sitting on the floor, in the first half; then leap over their back, then crawl under them in the second half.  Both partners work so its an opportunity to rest between the two sets of jumps.

WOD – 4 Rounds

20 Burpees

15 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls

15 Kettleball Swings

I really like the SDHP.  I like the fluidity of the movement, though, admittedly, Im still working on smoothing it out.  At the same time, its something that always leaves me very sore in the upper pecs.  Something I chalk up to a lack of enough upper body strength.

Yoga strength I have a plenty .. CrossFit strength is a work in progress.

In all, I pretty much breezed through this WOD.  Lol .. which is not to say it wasnt challenging enough, because it was.  I ‘breezed’ through timewise mostly because of the Burpees, which are very similar to something I teach in Yoga.

In my Yoga classes, its simply a plavana, or a ‘float back; jump’, but I teach them differently, more as a vinyasa or repetitive movement.  For example, instead of doing an full Sun Salutation, I will do the Yoga Plavana .. which is, again, sortta like a Burpee, but longer, slower, and with controlled breathing.

For the Kettleball Swing, the 20lb was a bit light, so Keefa suggested the 25lb dumbbell.  Good call, because that was right at my edge.

For the Sumo Deadlift High Pull, I used the 15lb bar with two 10lb plates, for a total of 35lbs.  This was the same weight I have lifted before here; and before, I aggravated the pectoralis major.  Today, its either the scalene or one of the clavical ligaments .. not sure which yet.

After the 4 Rounds I continued with the SDHP, to work on technique.  I really wanted to concentrate on the heel-press / hip push.  Doing so, I think the upper tension occurred because I was not always shrugging, as I should, in the rolling motion needed to lift the weight here.

Eitherway, I ended with 14 minutes and 35 seconds.

Everyday is an adventure .. mine just happens to include Yoga and Weightlifting!


 

Leave a Reply

