Saturday, 18 June, my CrossFit Gym had the Mobile Hydrostatic Body Fat Testing Clinic come out for a Body Composition Analysis (BCA).

 

Every morning I weigh myself, so that morning was no different.  I have a Tanita, model 2204, body fat scale.  It sends an electronic pulse through the feet to read weight and body fat.  That morning I weighed 126lbs with a 25bf.

 

At the dunk, I weighed 126.2lbs with a body fat percentage of 25.2.

 

Ive never been dunked before so it was a new experience.  Loved the warm tub!  Not so much the chlorine; but appreciate the hygiene reasons.

 

I did some research.  The hydrostatic method – the dunk or water test – is based on Archimedes’ Principle of buoyancy to displacement.  So that, when a body is submerged in water, there is a buoyant counter force equal to the weight of the water which is displaced.  Because fat floats, a large fat mass will make the body lighter (the bone and muscle) in water, and so register a higher percentage of body fat.

 

Body Fat, not BMI (Body Mass Index), is the true measure of obesity; meaning standard height and weight charts do not indicate a body fat percentage.  So in a Body Composition Analysis, what is determined is how much of the body is fat, and how much of  the body should be fat.  This further includes an accurate measure of Lean Body Mass, which is our metabolically active tissue, or everything thats not fat.

 

Overall, the mobile unit was very clean; the operator – Bali – was very professional and friendly, and the process quick and easy.  This was my first test, so its my baseline.

 

According to the company paperwork: Hydrostatic Body Fat Testing is referred to as THE GOLD STANDARD, or the method by which all other methods measure their own accuracy.  In my research, the ‘gold standard’ evaluation for hydrostatic testing is universal; meaning, this is indeed the best way to test one’s body fat.

 

Lol .. good thing Bali explained all the numbers too me, because Im in new territory here!

 

Eitherway, to be clear, I consider where I am now more Yoga body than Crossfit body.  I say that because Ive been practicing Yoga for 40+ years, so my weight and body fat reflects my primary means of fitness.  As of Saturday (dunk day), I have taken twelve (12) CrossFit classes (3 per week, 4 weeks), and though Ive seen some definition, overall, Im pretty much were I was when I started.

 

This demarcation is important because in 3 or 6 months of CrossFit, Id like to be dunked again, to compare the two results (or whenever the next BCA is recommended).

 

So .. and again:

126.2 lbs

25.2% body fat

74.75% lean body mass

For my age (52), my Percentile is 80, with is above Optimum Health.  Or as it was explained, I scored 80% better than those my age range (50-59), and that 20% of those my age had better results.

 

The analysis also included my Resting Metabolic Rate, so “according to your body size and body composition, you have a resting metabolic rate of 1428 calories per day.”

 

This is currently where I am at as far as eating is concerned .. 14-1500 calories a day.  Saturday, dunk day, was day 34 on the Paleo Diet .. tracking what I eat on FitDay.  Currently, I am reading The Paleo Solution: The Original Human Diet, by Robb Wolf; and looking to up my CrossFit days.  Lol .. lets see how motivated I feel when the new week rolls around!

 

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    Your LBM is less than 100 lbs, you used to be vegan, and you exercise a lot.

    Have you had your bone density tested?

    • Wild Yogini says:

      Thank you for reading my blog!

      No, not technically tested. While serving in the Army, both my feet were broken (two different incidences, and the only major breaks I have ever had). During the x-rays for one of them, the doctor commented that I had “thin bones”, and that I would “suffer from arthritis”.

      I dont know about ‘thin’, but I am small boned/small framed (my wrist, at the joint, measures 5.5″). As to ‘suffering’ from any ailment .. no. I have a strong immunity (am sick about once every 7-10 years), and when injured (bruised or cut), heal quickly within days.

      To my knowledge, Lean Body Mass is the mass of the body minus the fat. According to the Body Composition Analysis, my Lean Body Mass is 74.75%, and my Weight of Lean Body Mass is 94.35001 pounds. Which, again, tmk, is healthy.

      Now .. if you know something I dont know .. lol .. please clue me in! 😀

      • Tracey says:

        Hi. Just wanted to say I’m really enjoying your blog.

        RE: Bone density. Frailty syndrome components are sarcopenia, osteoporosis, muscle weakness.

        Thin women are more at risk for osteoporosis and also usually have less muscle mass.

        So I think its good to look at both body composition and bone density as we get older.

        Personally, I’m trying take as much muscle mass, joint flexibility, and bone into my old age as possible.

      • Wild Yogini says:

        [[Hi. Just wanted to say I’m really enjoying your blog.]]
        ** Thank you Tracey!

        [[RE: Bone density. Frailty syndrome components are sarcopenia, osteoporosis, muscle weakness. Thin women are more at risk for osteoporosis and also usually have less muscle mass.
        So I think its good to look at both body composition and bone density as we get older.]]
        ** I agree.

        [[Personally, I’m trying take as much muscle mass, joint flexibility, and bone into my old age as possible.]]
        ** LOVE this! Lol .. its baggage I wanna pack! 😀

  2. nike guy says:

    This article is very good, I liked it very much. Lots to learn on your blog, I look forward to reading it every day!

Leave a Reply

