40 years Yoga, teach 20+ hours a week in my own studio.

Have been a Vegetarian for over 30 years, Live Vegan for the last year. Started to notice indentations on the tongue’s edges (usually suggesting malabsorption of nutrients); as an Ayurveda Lifestyle Consultant, this concerned me.

Been researching the Paleolithic Diet for a few years; recently, looking into the physicality that matches it. This is what led me to CrossFit.

Decided to try a Paleo format on 16 May – meaning more fats via nuts.  No transitional problems; but certainly appreciated not feeling hungry all the time.

CrossFit Baseline on 23 May (Monday) at CrossFit Iconz:

500 m Row
40 Squats
30 Sit Ups
20 Push Ups
10 Pull Ups
= 7:48

Im 52 and aside from Yoga, run 10-15 miles a week with my running buddy Lilka (dog). I dont have a comparative number for that time, so based it like all other activity, which amounts to: ‘It feels good, so it is good!’

Ive always been a very physical individual – Yoga, martial arts, trail running (Rocks! Roots! Ruts!), hiking/camping, mountain biking, ex-Army (300 club) – so CrossFit felt ‘right’ from the start.

Foundation basics on 25 May (Wednesday). Joined in the Group Drill, then had the basics explained and observed:

Air Squat
Front Squat
Press (Overhead)
Deadlift
Kettleball Swing

Then did 3 Rounds of:
20 Squats
15 Presses
10 Push Ups
10 Deadlifts
= 7:40

Later that day, could feel the Press in the inner bicep, and the Deadlift in the quads.

26 May .. woke up sore, so did some gentle Yoga then went for a 2.11 mile run (very slow, 11min mile). Lol .. now Im more sore!

The day I started eating Paleo I weighed 125. Today, first in the AM, I weighed 129. I know I am enjoying the soaked almonds and blueberries too much! That and am realizing how much I enjoy eating fatty nuts – they can be addicting!

I use Fitday to watch what I eat, am and not exceeding 1100 calories in a single day, so need to watch the fat (which is now 35-50% of my calories, according to Fitday).

Eitherway, Im not overly concerned with weight right now, having a fast metabolism and an active lifestyle. I think my greatest challenge with weight is beer. Gotta work on that.

As to diet, Im mixing a Paleo format into my Live Veganism, which means loads of raw fruits and veggies, with some cooked sweet potatoes, and loads of fatty nuts.  So far, so good.

Day 3 CrossFit tomorrow.

Live Deliberately!

Comments
  1. […] weight has remained at 127 for about 2 weeks now (after its crazy fluctuation when I first started eating Paleo).  I started at 125, as a Live Vegan, and would describe my body as ‘sinewy’.  Plus […]

  2. Diane Meade says:

    I found your blog site on google. Like what I read. I especially appreciate all the links and supportive information. You put a lot of time into this. Looking forward to your next stream of thought.

  3. Sannibell says:

    Hhmm .. really got me thinking about my next level.

  4. Zune says:

    You brought up some superb points, things I have been pondering .. you clarified. Thanks!

  5. Amy Burgess says:

    You made some solid points here. I did some research on the topic and found you to be spot on. Good info! Thanks!

  6. Mary Lynn says:

    Thanks for the great post, I have marked your blog as a favorite!

  7. Liv Live says:

    Some really excellent information. Glad to find you!

  8. brian hockley says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the e-book in it or something. This is a magnificent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  9. Suzibee says:

    Thanks for the great post .. great article!

  10. telly terry says:

    Fantastic site. A lot of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some friends. Thanks for your effort!

  11. Marium Miller says:

    I visit a lot of websites, and yours is becoming a ‘must visit’. Always something informative .. concise and well-written. Keep up the good work!

  12. seoseo says:

    Hello. splendid job. Was suring and did not anticipate something this well written. Good stuff.

  13. Garmin Lord says:

    This is really a incredibly excellent read for me, Need to admit you becoming a favorite read. Thanks for posting this informative article.

  14. Sally McDermott says:

    fantastic post. Ne’er knew this, thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

